Growth time of geranium cuttings?

frank325June 21, 2008

This is my first year getting geraniums (zonal) and I put 2 of them together in a container outside. I'm thinking maybe I should have put them in separate containers, because right now they fill it up a lot. Is that an issue since it's only mid-June? Would it have been better to put them in their own containers instead of trying to get a full-looking container right from the get go?

That's one question, but the main question I had was taking cuttings. I've never done this for any plant. How long, in general, might it take for a cutting to go from just cut and planted to looking like the plant you'd buy in the spring from a nursery? I wanted to try it for these guys, but had no idea when I should do it. Could I take cuttings in the fall and overwinter them indoors and end up with a big plant in the spring? Would a south facing window be best for them all winter, or a plant light in the basement?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
lindac(Iowa Z 5/4)

When I was using geraneums for landscaping, andw anted one particular color, I would bring my big plant in the house before frost, and keep it watered in a south window and take cuttings the first week of January. Root them in sandand pot themup and by midMay they were looking wonderful.
But it happendmore quickly in the summer. If you take cuttings now, they probably will look like a "store bought plant" in about 2 1/2months.
Linda C

Bookmark   June 22, 2008 at 5:07PM
frank325

Wow! That's a lot faster than I was thinking. They really get that big in 2 1/2 months? I figured it would take longer since they don't root for a few weeks.

Bookmark   June 22, 2008 at 8:10PM
lindac(Iowa Z 5/4)

How big a cutting will you take? And how big do you want them to be?
You take a tiny sprig and it will root in about 2 to 3 weeks and grow ....take a bigger piece and it will be bigger once it gets roots.
Linda C

Bookmark   June 22, 2008 at 11:27PM
Karchita(WA Z8)