Pictures with questions (zinnia, larkspur, calendula) ?

flowersandthings(MidAtlantic 6/7)July 29, 2005

Hi does anyone have larkspur that do this? I found a few strange one that are bright purple with blue "flashes":

(sorry if pictures are large..... I was having trouble resizing):

Does this shaggy calendula have a cultivar name?

What is wrong with this zinnia envy? Some only have one row of petals and this weird fluffy middle with these funny little yellow "sub" petals popping out.

The others look "normal" and full like this:

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
beleaf(east Canada)

There is nothing wrong with those zinnias. Must be your first go at them is it???

Bookmark   July 29, 2005 at 8:14PM
flowersandthings(MidAtlantic 6/7)

I've grown zinnias for years but never from seed. I've grown a few varieties from seed this year and none of the others do this. This is my first time growing envy. I guess this is how some of its seedlings look? Not very attractive. I don't know all and all if I'll be growing this variety again.
That picture of larkspur didn't upload very well.... Here it is:

Bookmark   July 30, 2005 at 1:08AM
Fledgeling_(4b SD)

I just grew zinnias for the first time from seed this year, but looking at the resulting seedlings it looks like the gene that causes the flowers to 'double' or 'layer' or whatever they do is sometimes not expressed or only partially so. i dont know why only some of your varieties did this- i dont know much about zinnias. One plant i have looked as if it was partly expressed with those stay petals doubled later on...

Bookmark   July 30, 2005 at 5:24AM
Garden_Momma

I think Zinns are doing just fine.

There is the wierd one that will pop up every once in a while...But tht's what makes gardening fun! Very beautiful
larkspur!!!....
G_M

Bookmark   July 30, 2005 at 7:10AM
flowersandthings(MidAtlantic 6/7)

Does anyone else's larkspur do this? With the stripes/splashes/splotches? :)

Bookmark   July 30, 2005 at 6:23PM