Raspberry Shortcake Dwarf Thornless Raspberry

zaphod42February 7, 2014

Would love to have a raspberry patch, but lack the available space and location for the traditional variety. Came across Raspberry Shortcake Dwarf Thornless Raspberry. I'm contemplating the idea of putting it into a container for near the patio. Has anyone tried this dwarf variety? Thoughts? Would I need to overwinter in the garage if it was in a larger container or could I leave it out? Thanks!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
lsoh

I am not an expert. I've been growing only a few fruits in containers for only a few years.

You could probably leave the pot outside for the winter if you bury the pot in leaves. I live in zone 5 and this approach has worked for me in the past (we'll see about -20 degrees.)

Unfortunately, you probably wouldn't get much fruit from raspberries in a single pot. I don't know anything about that variety. But a pot would have room for a limited number of canes. However, a small harvest might be better than none.

Would you consider another type of fruit? I currently grow blueberries, blackberries, and sweet cherries in pots. I think any of those would give you a larger yield.

Bookmark   February 7, 2014 at 9:29PM
drew51 SE MI Z5b/6a

That raspberry cultivar is meant to grow in a pot. It is more of a bush than a vine. They introduced a couple blueberries too from this breeder. The call all three BrazelBerries. The blueberries are Peach Sorbet and Jelly BeanÃÂ .

Here's some info: