how do apple seeds sprout?

thedarkness(5)February 20, 2013

i put some seeds in water for about a week, one really took off and a few started. i put the one that was doing really well in a soup can with holes for drainage, then near a uv light by a sunny window 1/2 of the day. i put dirt on it lightly, about 4 inches under it. everytime i look at it, the seed is exposed, is this from the water washing away the dirt, or is it like beans where the seed goes up then leaves and more growth come out? i have never tried growing trees from seeds before, so any help is appreciated

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Eric580

The seed should not be exposed. All my apple trees sprouted from seeds in the dirt. Maybe you should try a different pot? Maybe a plastic cup or a flowerpot?Here is a photo of my apple seedlings about a month ago. The seed stays covered and eventually, a green stem will appear with a seed case on it. You can peel this off carefully or leave it on to break open. Two little leaves will unfold after a few days then real leaves will develop. Hope this helps:) Also apples need to be cross pollinated by another apple tree to produce fruit. Even crabapple trees work. Good luck on your endeavour thedarkness!

Bookmark   February 20, 2013 at 10:20PM
thedarkness(5)

thanks for the pic! its got about an inch long sprout, should i point that upwards and not bury it? right now i have the sprout on the side, and noticed some tiny hairs on seedcase, is that mould or normal? i will post pic of my set up for it in a few minutes

Bookmark   February 20, 2013 at 10:35PM
thedarkness(5)

http://imageshack.us/a/img29/7462/img42851.jpg
http://imageshack.us/a/img203/1368/img42841y.jpg
http://imageshack.us/a/img853/427/img42831.jpg
http://imageshack.us/a/img255/5411/img42871.jpg

the second one is the seed with little hairs growing on it.
and that is a bearded dragon tail in the 3rd if anyone was wondering