Can rubbing alcohol 'go bad'?

thorspippi(z9/s14 CA Sacramento)March 23, 2005

Don't know where to ask this. Figured you all might know. Even though it might not be an "herbalism" topic, per se?

Anyway. My bottle of it smells strange, somehow. Don't know if my hormones are going nuts (sometimes things smell strange to me when I'm approaching PMS) or if it really has a strange odor. There's no expiration date on the bottle so I don't know how old it is.

Normally, I only use it when changing an infusion set for my insulin pump. But because of posts I found on this forum regarding flea bites (we're massively infested right now--3 cats and a big dog--and are pretty much swimming in chemicals, much to my displeasure, but DH is going bonkers), I thought I'd try it for the itching.

I dunno, maybe all the chemicals are getting to me, too.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Heathen1(10a)

Well, I am no expert, I thought that the only thing that could happen to alcohol was if the alcohol evaporated, in which time I guess that buggies could take over.

Bookmark   March 23, 2005 at 7:25PM
lifestarter

if it doesn't smell like REAAAAALLLLY hard vodka and totally foul, the alc. has evapd and whats left is h20 contaminated with nasties, plus the bottle is clear so just look for algae or foreign particles as good rubbing alc. is 100% sterile. it has happened to me before and just today i was wondering why in the world the store doesn't seal up the caps with foil like some do.. though i still use 1 bottle with a pull up squirt cap from at latest the early 80s and use it from time to time while the store brand from the 90s was chucked a couple years ago.
and remember, "waft".. never stick your nose into any noxious chemicals or solvents.

Bookmark   March 24, 2005 at 1:04PM
thorspippi(z9/s14 CA Sacramento)

ahhhh. Good point!

And thanks for the reminder. I did indeed stick my nose in the bottle. (thwaps self on head)

Bookmark   March 24, 2005 at 3:45PM