Need help with grapes...

NAUgrad2005March 6, 2013

I planted 3 different varieties of grapes when I moved into my home 6 years ago: Thompson's Seedless green grapes, Concord grapes and a red grape. The plants did well and bore fruit each year, but I've lost my crops the past 2 years due to powdery mildew. The vines grow in a planter area in the corner of my backyard but span roughly 15 feet wide along the fence. During the season, I was diligent with keeping my vines open and airy. This year, I think I'll try to treat them. I'm at a loss of what to do this spring though,,,should I cut off any areas that still look diseased? The vines are watered by my sprinkler system daily throughout the spring and summer, although the sprinklers only run for about 10 minutes in the backyard. Please help...I'm a grape novice!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX

Daily water probably isn't the cause of your powdery mildew. But it's not a good schedule for grapes or even a lawn for that matter. Could you go to a weekly or twice weekly watering?

Grapes would do best with a deep watering every couple weeks. Once a week on shallow soil.

Study the info linked below and you will be an expert on PM of grapes.

Here is a link that might be useful: grape PM

Bookmark   March 6, 2013 at 5:31PM
murkwell

Also its probably best to water the roots and not the foliage.

Bookmark   March 6, 2013 at 9:00PM
yukkuri_kame(Sunset 19 / USDA 9)

I had some powdery mildew last year.

This year I may try spraying with a solution of milk. I may also try EM (effective organisms).

Definitely not into soaking my food with fungicides.

Bookmark   March 6, 2013 at 10:55PM
campv