Mulberry Update (Too Sour/Tart)

MohammadLawatiApril 7, 2014

Hello everyone!
I just lost many mulberries to birds and it is my first year and I need to taste them to know what they taste like. Therefore, I covered the ones that turned pink with paper towels.... hehehehe. Well I saw this then:

So I picked it:

It tastes bland, Not sweet... maybe has some sweetness that I can't feel.
It is juicy yes, but I could not taste much sweetness if any at all! So I asked someone about it and he told me that this is happening because I covered them with paper towels and I need to do it with a net so sunlight could develop sweetness in the fruit. Is this true? I mean can this be the problem?
I am trying it now:

I have noticed that fruits hit by the sun mature faster than those in the shades.
Can you guys help me with some information? I thought leaves develop sugars???

This post was edited by MohammadLawati on Tue, Apr 8, 14 at 7:13

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
MohammadLawati

Hello, just tried the one in the net and it is the same.... not as much sour as the first one. Is this because it is fruiting for the first time?

Bookmark   April 7, 2014 at 12:41PM
home_grower(SoCal Z9 S18)

I know there are many varieties of mulberries but I'm no expert. I also planted a Pakistan Mulberry last year and have about 50 fruit on it already. They are very sweet. They are longer but slimmer than the ones in your pics. I had never tasted them before the ones on my tree and have been pleasantly surprised by the taste. Here are a few I picked today.

Bookmark   April 9, 2014 at 4:54AM
drew51 SE MI Z5b/6a

It has been my experience that mulberries vary greatly in taste from tree to tree, even if the same cultivar. When you find a good tasting one clone it!!

Bookmark   April 9, 2014 at 6:17AM
home_grower(SoCal Z9 S18)

I tested the Brix on one of the berries tonight and it read 32 on my refractometer. It tops out at 35 so I guess that is pretty sweet.