Help ID possible apple tree disease

fern1knitsJune 20, 2013

About a month ago, I saw these $10 clearance apple trees at Walmart and decided to get a pair. I know that I planted them a little late in the season and I know that the remaining clearance apple trees at Walmart were probably not the highest quality specimens, but I thought I'd give them a try. Both trees are for Gala, and I know it would have been better to get two distinct varieties, but the pickin's were slim.

I have very poor quality clay soil that does not have good drainage and is nutrient deficient. I mixed in some compost (from my own compost pile) when planting along with some organic fruit tree fertilizer (though, I might not have gotten the mixture right, as I am a novice).

On one of them, most of the leaves are developing this orange-brown rusty appearance and I'm just not sure if this is a nutrition or water issue, or a disease. I've been looking at pictures of diseased and problem leaves, trying to diagnose it myself, but I'm just such a novice that I don't really know what I'm looking at.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

This post was edited by fern1knits on Thu, Jun 20, 13 at 12:21

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
fern1knits

That first photo is of the front of the leaf and this one is of the back.

Bookmark   June 20, 2013 at 12:20PM
valgor(4b, WI)

Is the whole tree like this? Did it start from the leaf edges and work inward? Did leaves show signs of this when u bought the trees? Have you sprayed trees with pesticides? Watered in midday? Lots of possibilities, but looks like maybe they are getting burned from overfertilizing...

Bookmark   June 20, 2013 at 4:55PM
fern1knits