Blueberries o.k. near cedar trees?

krikitNovember 29, 2008

I've tried to search on this but didn't find anything. I have lots of cedars on my property, and found out the hard way that serviceberry trees don't do well near a cedar. Today I moved the serviceberry further from the cedar in hopes that it will not get rust. Now I have a very nice, sunny planting spot about 20' from a large cedar. I say this is a nice planting spot because the soil has had the advantage of mulch breaking down over a few years that seems to have improved it greatly. I'd like to put a blueberry in this spot, but am wondering if they are susceptible to cedar rust. If so, can you recommend a fruiting tree or shrub that would not be bothered by the cedar tree? Thanks in advance.

Frances

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
ericwi

We have a 30 foot tall cedar tree next to our garage, and I have been growing blueberry shrubs within 5 feet for several years with little or no problem. I also have two shrubs that are located about 12 feet from the same tree, and they have been growing for 10 years. Every year I find a few blueberry leaves affected by rust, and I prune them off and put them in the compost pile. So far, this has not been a significant issue for me, I have more problems keeping these shrubs happily hydrated through the August drought.

Bookmark   November 29, 2008 at 5:51PM
krikit

Thanks for the info! - This is exactly what I needed to know :-)

Frances

Bookmark   November 30, 2008 at 1:32PM
kiwinut

Blueberries are not affected by cedar rusts, so that is not an issue. However, having lots of cedars in Tennessee means you likely have thin limey soils with neutral pH, which are very bad for growing blueberries. I would check the pH before planting. The years of mulch composting may have created a suitable soil, but if not, you may need to acidify the soil.

Bookmark   December 1, 2008 at 3:02PM
ericwi