cabbages and brussel sprouts, do you rip out?

kelisk8sJuly 13, 2012

I am just learning about spring/fall plantings... I put out my spring plantings of bok choi, brussel sprouts, cabbage, and broccoli too late. The bok choi went to seed and I collected those. The broccoli is about to flower, but the brussel sprouts and cabbage look pretty good. Should I rip these last two out? How can you tell when cabbage and brussel sprouts bolt? I know I have a short growing season so I'm trying to make the most of the time I have. I plan on starting some transplants of these in the next couple days to replace what I've ripped out. Any ideas? Feedback appreciated!!!

Kelli

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Kimmsr(4a/5b-MI)

If you cut the head of a cabbage off, bu leave the rest of the plant undisturbed it will form new heads although they will be much smaller. The part of Broccoli that we harvest are the flowers, so if you keep them cut they should continue producing although those too will be smaller and smaller. I have heard that you can cut Brussels Sprouts down and allow them to regrow also although I have not tried that.
These are really cool weather crops so you may want to pull them out and plant somethign more suitable for this hot weather and follow up later with a fall crop of these.

Bookmark   July 14, 2012 at 6:33AM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
flora_uk(SW UK 8/9)