Orchids under a cloche...good idea or not???

ohsixthirty(Zone 6)June 16, 2009

So, I'm a total novice when it comes to the world of orchids. In fact until a few months ago I thought I would never want a plant that took so long to reflower, but suddenly I'm becoming a little addicted to them. I have five total: two phalaenopsis, one doritaenopsis, and two paphiopedilum.

Currently, I have the two paphs in the pots they came in, which appear to be the correct medium and correct types of pots for orchids. I have both of them under cloches because I thought they need humidity (plus it looks great). Also, the dtps is under a small cloche as well. Its still in its original pot, although when I checked its roots it seemed to be rotting, the ends of a couple were brown and mushy. It was on $8 special at Kroger though, so no surprise there. I cut those off and repotted it with some plain old orchid mix and put it back in its cloche.

All of these orchids are in a room with a south facing window and they all seem to be doing well so far, although last week the bloom on one of the paphs had fallen off. I think it was fading when I purchased it, but I didn't realize it would just fall off! Is that normal?

I guess my question mainly is if cloches are a good idea for these? I haven't had them for long, my collection has grown faster than my knowledge has, so I'm worried that I might unwittingly make some mistake!

Here are pictures so you can see my setup...

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
smwboxer

Though orchids love humidity, they also love air movement. Keeping them under cover like that will eventually lead to fungal/bacterial infections and the death of the plant.

Bookmark   June 16, 2009 at 7:06AM
morello

orchids are likes human, they need air (oxygen) for "breathing" (respiration) and need good air circulation in order to have good transpiration.