signs of too frequent feeding? schomburgkias only

joss-1October 1, 2012

Hello, I'm not new to schomburgkias, I've been growing them for 20 years, but I am new to an issue I'm seeing with the new growths. I grow 90% of the orchids bareroot and I fertilize them with a weak solution every time I spray or every other time. The majority love it, but there are 3 which happen to be potted and are the newly titled "laelia" type or 'fusiform' type, not the myrmecophila type, which get "limp" leaves once the leaves reach about 4 to 5 inches long... they just droop down. The plants still thrive with nice healthy roots and nice and green, but the leaves droop... two of them are even spiking. I'm positive that something is causing this to happen and that they're not just growing this way. Have any of you seen this? It seems logical that being only with the potted ones, that they are getting over fed, I'm guessing, although the normal signs are black root or leaf tips, which these do not have. Thanks for any info you might have. Joss

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
olympia_gardener(5)

You are think of salt built up... You can flush with water and stop using fertilizer for couple of months to see if the condition improve...

Bookmark   October 1, 2012 at 2:22PM
penfold2(4b, MN)

Are you watering the plants heavily when fertilizing? You want a significant amount of water to drain out in order to prevent fertilizer salts from accumulating as og said above. I would thoroughly flush the pots with pure water, maybe even soak them in a bucket for several minutes, and water heavily when fertilizing from now on. If that doesn't work, try replacing the media and checking the roots while you're at it.

-Chris

Bookmark   October 2, 2012 at 5:39PM
joss-1

Thanks for replying. Chris, are saying to feed first and then water heavy? Wouldn't that just rinse out all the food? Sorry, I've never got along with potted orchids. Joss

Bookmark   October 3, 2012 at 1:42PM