Pruning Okra plants

lovelyamericaAugust 15, 2007

I live in Alabama,USA. I am new to gardening. I have planted more than 25 okra plants in my backyard. All came up well and I get okras every week. But, plants grwon up 15 foot tall. They look like trees. I don't know how to control their height. I need to look up to pick okras. What should I do to control their height? Do I need to prune them? How to prune them?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
biermaster

I normally prune mine when they reach about 5 to 6 feet tall. I plant mine on 3 ft centers as when you prune them they start side branches up and down the stalk. I have had to prune a couple of the side branches as they were at about 6 ft last year. This seems to encourage more pods. When I pulled them in December the base of the stock was about 4 inches across. This works for me so this is an option. I think I would give it a try on a couple of plants to see what happens. It sure makes picking a whole lot simpler.

Bookmark   August 15, 2007 at 2:39PM
lovelyamerica

Thank you so much.
Most of my okra plants are taller and have pods in the top. The leaves are very big which had grown to 1 ft wide and single and there is no side branches. Is it good to cut off those larger leaves which formed from the beginning of the plant. Or do I need to cut off the top of the plant to reduce the height to 4 or 5 feet.

Bookmark   August 16, 2007 at 2:21PM
biermaster