Bubble Wrap - Bubbles IN or bubbles OUT?

joeurdaMarch 5, 2008

Got my bubble wrap from Charlies and I'm ready to install it. The directions say "bubble towards the glass or polycarbonate".

My question is . . . What difference does it make as to what side is towards the glass? Has anybody noticed a difference in maintaining the temperature?

Thanks,

Joe

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
greenhouser(Middle TN Zone 6)

I have the bubbles towards the glass or outside. It adds another barrier, a good dead air to prevent heat escaping. It's also needed to join them with tape.

Bookmark   March 5, 2008 at 4:20PM
akaeon182

Sorry but i am completely new to this.

what is bubble wrap? like normal shipping bubble wrap. I understand what its for(extra insulation). Who sells it?

Bookmark   March 5, 2008 at 5:02PM
jamie_mt(z4/5 MT)

I may be wrong, but I think that putting the bubbles towards the outside creates a layer of air between the bubble wrap and the polycarb (air can move or be trapped between the bubbles)...that air is what gives you insulating properties (which is why there are channels in polycarb panels - air channels for insulation). If you put the flat side against the panels, there wouldn't be an air layer, and it would be less insulating. That's how I understand it, anyways.

Mine is bubble side out, and I could tell the difference immediately when I put it up, even more so when I taped the edges of the bubble wrap together. It's a huge difference from just the polycarb panels.

Bookmark   March 5, 2008 at 5:04PM

Call your local packaging or packing house where you will spend about 70% less than if you buy it from one of the GH places online. They also sell it in 24" and 48" and almost any length you want. Don't let them BS you as it's the same stuff.

Bookmark   March 5, 2008 at 5:15PM
gardenerwantabe