Foundation for Shed

sheller53April 16, 2012

Hi there,

I am new to gardenweb, and this is my first post (please let me know if this is in the wrong place). I have a 10x18 shed on a old/sloping/cracked concrete pad. We are selling the shed and putting a 8 x 16 tuff shed in its place (with galvanized steel floor joists). The shed company said that only crushed gravel is needed for the foundation, but I would like to use the concrete pad to avoid the cost/effort of removing the concrete. Does anyone have recommendations/thoughts for if there is a way to use treated wood/concrete blocks on one side (the shed slops a few inches on one side) and put the shed on the concrete pad/blocks? Thanks very much!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
dowlinggram

No matter what you do it will be very hard to get the base level on that old pad. If that pad was lifted to make it unlevel whats to say it won't lift again someway or crack and lift. Then you'd be struck with it off kilter shed. I'd either get rid of the pad or find another place to put your new shed

Bookmark   April 16, 2012 at 9:52PM
PRO
Steven Laurin & Company

I concur with the above recommendation - remove the slab, or relocate the new shed. It appears the old concrete slab may been poured on-grade, with disregard for the minimum frost depth for your area.

Assuming your minimum winter temps do drop below 32ðF (0ðC), it's best to place the new shed on a level, compacted gravel base to provide good drainage, hence avoiding frost heave. There are right and wrong ways of constructing a gravel foundation as well; follow the shed company's recommendation.

My custom 8 x 16 shed has pressure-treated 2x6 joists 16" oc spanning 8 ft (doubled at rims) and is being built over six poured concrete piers, 8 ft on-center with footing bottoms 42" below finished grade. If you were to take that approach, your 8 x 16 tuff-shed, with 6" galv steel joists @ 2'-0" oc, may require simiar spacing of conc. piers (or piles).