Do I have to seal pressure treated wood planter boxes?

cindyr_napa(94558)April 23, 2010

My friend is putting together some wooden planter raised bed boxes for vegetables. The wood is pressure treated and he thinks the wood has to be painted to seal out copper and arsenic. I can't recall ever seeing painted raised beds. Seems to me they are usually bare wood, but I don't know if they're pressure treated. So - should the wood be painted? If so, can it just be primed on the insides? Thanks!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
buyorsell888(Zone 8 Portland OR)

pressure treated wood is normally NOT used for edible plantings because it can leach toxins....

I do not know if paint or sealer will be enough protection. Sorry.

Bookmark   April 26, 2010 at 11:45PM
markmahlum

As a home builder I use a significant quantity of PT wood. New chemical formulations have supposedly reduced the toxicity and possibly the performance of the treated wood products we buy. The old PT presented health risks either from burning or breathing the saw dust, not to mention handling because of the arsenic content.

I've asked the manufacturers about the safety of using PT for vegetable gardening and have not received a very "thumb's up" response and have concluded it's probably not safe. I'll be building a raised bed garden with something other than PT.

Mark

Bookmark   April 27, 2010 at 8:31AM
ryangrogers

you can try using Lifetime Wood Treatment (link below) as a non-toxic preservative on non-treated wood. I found mine at a local paint store, or you can order it online.

Will it last as long as PT? Probably not - but it might make it last long enough, especially if you are using some thicker lumber to start with.

Here is a link that might be useful: Lifetime Wood Treatment

Bookmark   April 27, 2010 at 9:19AM
kudzu9(Zone 8a - PNW)