AV Newbie Success :-)

moonwolf_gwMarch 25, 2013

Hi everyone,

I was watering my AV yesterday and noticed two flower buds/stalks appearing. This is a very welcome surprise to me, since I am a sort of AV newbie. I may take the plunge and buy another one lol.

Brad AKA Moonwolf

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
perle_de_or(Zone 7)

Its always great to see buds beginning to pop up. They sometimes take a while to open, so be patient!

Bookmark   March 25, 2013 at 12:52PM
moonwolf_gw

I have plenty of patience since I also grow Hoyas and even when they bloom, the buds take a while to open on those as well. So I'm used to it. Lol

Brad AKA Moonwolf

Bookmark   March 25, 2013 at 7:16PM
KiddyPlanter

Hi and congratulations Brad!=D I'm also a newbie, and my first buds took many days to open! Though it probably was due to the cooler temperatures in the winter....=P Anyways, I'm so happy for you cause I can imagine the thrill of getting it to bloom!=D Keep up the great work! And if you feel like, maybe you could share some pictures when they bloom too!XP

Bookmark   March 25, 2013 at 8:29PM
perle_de_or(Zone 7)

Yes, pictures would be great. My hoyas have never bloomed !!

Bookmark   March 26, 2013 at 1:46PM
aviolet6(7)

Brad please email me about your hoyas. Lighting, fertizer, etc. Mine are slow growing and have yet to bloom. Thanks!

Bookmark   March 29, 2013 at 10:43PM
Leafhead

I love Hoyas too. I have two that haven't bloomed yet but are just waking up from their rest period. I hope to get some blooms this season:)
Hoyas are slow growing and don't grow at all during the cooler months. In the Spring, when they begin to grow, they like a weak water soluble fertilizer monthly or so.
Hoyas are epiphytic; they grow in trees. So they like a light, fast draining mix. They also like to dry between watering.
They like a bit of sun, best in the morning, c afternoon shade.