New to AV--when to repot?

swcheng15April 26, 2009

Hello everyone. I'm new to AVs and new to this forum. I would appreciate any help. I bought an AV some time ago (don't remember when), and I repotted it into a self-watering container. My AV is doing fabulously, and what was once a single plant now seems to have become 3 plants within that one pot (the leaves and buds are shooting up in three separate and distinct directions). Is there a good time to replant this and separate them so they each have their own pots? Do I need to do that now? I know that AVs do well when it's crowded. It's in a 6" pot now, stretching over 12" across and about 7" tall. Thanks!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
nwgatreasures(7)

Hello & Welcome to AVs and this board:)

Now is a great time to split that baby up and repot them.
There's some great instructionals online. When you split them and repot them, don't forget to bag them for a month or so until the root system can get established.

We'd love to see pictures if you're able to share.
Dora

Bookmark   April 27, 2009 at 6:27AM
swcheng15

Thanks nwgatreasures! I thought (initially) that I'd repot after it was done blooming, but it hasn't stopped and it continues to get bigger! I was planning on posting a pic, but don't know how to do that yet.

Bookmark   April 27, 2009 at 1:05PM
nwgatreasures(7)

You can repot now or wait - we frequently have this discussion on this board and people sit on both sides of the choice with good reason :) - ultimately, it's up to the grower as to what to do. There are pros and cons to both options.