Can you help me ID this variety?

vilvere(5)May 24, 2009

Hi everyone! I'm a long-time lurker, first-time poster. I have been growing african violets for a few years now and I have one standard that I do not know what kind it is. It was my first AV...and yes, it's the one that started it all! The problem is, it was given to me by a friend that had nearly killed it and she wanted to see if I could nurse it back to health. Since it was given to me, I have absolutely no idea what variety it is. It's quite possible that it is a noid, but the flowers on it are so unlike anything else I've seen that I suspect it is a named variety. Anyway, here are a few pictures:

You expertise and help is very much appreciated!

Christine

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
m3rma1d(inside)

It's a very lovely noID :-)

Bookmark   May 24, 2009 at 6:42PM
flowergirl70ks

Could it be Harlequin?

Bookmark   May 26, 2009 at 7:27PM
fred_hill(6)

HI.
There are five av's in FC2 that have Harlequin in their name. None of them match the photo.
However, take a look at this and see what you think.
Melodie Kimi (8100) 09/15/1994 (Sunnyside/Levy) Single white sticktite pansy/purple-blue top petals, tips. Medium green, plain, quilted, wavy. Standard
Fred in NJ

Here is a link that might be useful: AVSA Photo Library

Bookmark   May 26, 2009 at 7:53PM
fuzzyleaves(5)

Hi Fred,

This is vilvere, just decided to change my username :P

Wow, you have a really good eye! I think that may be what I have. Judging from the different images I pulled up on different sites it can have a fairly variable appearance but mine definitely matches that description and looks a lot like many of the photos.

Thanks for looking, I really appreciate it. I think it may be time for me to finally bite the bullet and buy myself a copy of FC2!

Christine

Bookmark   May 26, 2009 at 8:18PM
sumirevbd