Beginner starting his first collection!

donivan2009(6a)October 19, 2010

Hi guys,

My name is Donovan from Nashville, TN. I am new to AV's and eager to get started in the hobby. My mom was big into AV's when I was growing up and I used to go to shows with her and had so much fun! I am looking to grow for show as well! I am just starting out and eager to collect as many different id AV's as well as NOIDS! I was hoping some of you could share some tips and experiences with me for growing to show! Also, if anyone has any clippings they would like to share, let me know! Also I am interested in learning about cross-breeding. And where is the best online store to buy AV's?

Thanks for all your help guys!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
snappyguy

I have only ever bought plants from 2 places online. The first is www.bluebirdgreenhouse.com, and the second is www.lyndonlyon.com. I only bought episcias from Lyndon Lyon but I was very impressed by their plants. Another big place is www.violetbarn.com. I have no experience with them though.

Mark

Bookmark   October 19, 2010 at 9:50AM
quimoi

Welcome Donovan!

Maybe just slow down a little? I know it's hard :)

If you want to show, you will want to get named and usually registered plants. You can start by visiting and perhaps joining the AVSA (African Violet Society of America) pages.

NOIDS are fine and great for practice though. I will let someone more to the south recommend a "dealer" (these things are like drugs) to you since it's getting late for some of the northern ones to ship.

If there's a show in your area, I understand you can buy plants there. Sadly, I have never had that opportunity.

Next, you can learn about hybridizing.

Diana

Bookmark   October 19, 2010 at 11:43AM
bspofford