Need advice on automatic fish feeders

robbieanne(z4)December 27, 2005

Hi, I'm new to this forum and would appreciate your advice.

I have an aquarium containing 6 African Cichlids, and I'm going out of town for a couple of weeks. Can anyone recommend a good automatic feeder? I generally have a neighbor come over to feed the fish, but I'd rather try the auto feeder route if there's one I can rely on.

Thank you,

Robbie

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
skygee(z7NY)

Are you thinking of having someone stop in at least every couple of days? Just to make sure the tank is running okay - no loss of power, etc, etc? Being in zone 4, I'd worry about losing power and heat, which of course then your fish will be gone.

Bookmark   December 28, 2005 at 7:57AM
robbieanne(z4)

Yes, I plan to have someone check the tank while I am away. I'm new to my community, so I don't have a lot of people that I know or trust to take on such a task, unfortunately. I had a neighbor feed the fish when I was away for 4 days not long ago, and the fish were waaaay overfed. I came home to a mess.
I really need to get a feeder that is reliable. Have narrowed it down to either a Hagen NutraFin Profeed or an Eheim Feed Air Automatic, both of which appear to be high-end feeders.

Bookmark   December 28, 2005 at 10:51AM
skygee(z7NY)

They're both battery operated, right? I'm sorry - I have no experience with automatic feeders - so can't really recommend one over the other.