What's wrong with my Rhodie flower buds in this picture?

pappu(z5 IL)April 26, 2005

My 4 Rhodies had nice fat flower buds with sorrounding leaf buds. The leaf buds are fully leafing out and there is no sign of activity in the flower buds. This is my first year of growing them(planted them last spring)...is this normal? Should I just wait for the flower buds to develop, maybe apply some bloom booster fertilizer? Please advise...

Thanks

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
sonny300(z8 B.C.)

That looks just fine..The nice plump bud will flower this year. and the elongated shoots are putting out new leaves.After flowering, new buds will begin to appear.

No worries, looks fine to me..

Ps...Don`t forget to deadhead after flowering..

Bookmark   April 26, 2005 at 6:41PM
morz8(Washington Coast Z8b)

I can't say I've seen that, and I took a walk around the neighborhood to check if there were any nearby doing the same...the flowers should open before the foliage buds on any that I've grown. Any that I've personally seen.

Maybe someone else here will have some insight into your plant, in the meantime I'll see what I can find about foliage preceding flower....Do the buds look as though they are showing some color and are going to open, or are they completely stalled?

Bookmark   April 26, 2005 at 8:23PM
pappu(z5 IL)

The flower buds show no activity...they look healthy and green, but not the slightest bit of change or any hint of unfurling or budding out....This is the same with all 6 plants. The leaf buds are going gangbusters!Do the late flowering Rhodies do this?

Bookmark   April 26, 2005 at 9:36PM

I rec'd this response for you from Library Hort., Univ. WA just today...