Planting Brugs outside?

bamakrautie(z8AL)March 11, 2006

Hi, I am new to gardening and I wonder if it would be too early to plant my Angel's Trumpets already outside/ I got twi healthy cuttlings from last year which I would like to put in the yard. Any suggestions?

Thank you

MAnu

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
roseyp8255(z8 - SC AL)

I think you probably would need to wait until after the last frost in your area. I am new to brugs - got some last year, have a few in the yard, but most of them i have babied in the Greenhouse over the winter. I do plan to put them in the ground this year though.

Terry - Deb - Tony - you might want to toss them some of your knowledge on this - since yours do GREAT a zone north of me! :)

Bookmark   March 11, 2006 at 9:31AM
tsmith2579(7B)

Well, I uncovered some of my brugs today. They already have some green sprouts. I removed the leaf mulch but I kept the black flower pots nearby as covers just in case we have a frost. The 10 day forecast is calling for 37 degrees one night next week so I may have to cover them as a precaution. Otherwise, the 10 day forecast shows good temps. Just remember, we had a frost on March 31 a couple of years ago, the first frost since Feb. 15. On April 4, 1985 we had snow in the peach blossoms here in metro Birmingham. Will we have another hard freeze? I doubt it. If you plant them in the ground, be sure they are well drained and you can cover them.

Bookmark   March 11, 2006 at 8:52PM
bamakrautie(z8AL)

Thank you for the tips, i guess I will wait unil mid April, just to be on the safe side.
Bye Manu

Bookmark   March 12, 2006 at 7:42PM
loveofmylife680(z7)

Manu, You need to come to the plant swap even if you do not have anything to swap, I went to the fall one and found out so much about different plants that I didnt know. Alot of people that come to the swap have alot of knowledge about plants.
Jill

Bookmark   March 15, 2006 at 10:40AM
daisyaday31(z7 NE AL)