Garlic is sending up scapes!

glane1219(northern OK.)May 2, 2005

Hi, Went looking at the garlic and onions today. Both the Elephant and Maitake Garlic is just starting to send up scapes here, and digging down to check on the progress of the bulbs show the maitake to already be sizeing up nicely.

Now comes the waiting to harvest.

Gary

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
ksrogers(EasternMass Z6)

Removing the scapes is important at this time.

Bookmark   May 3, 2005 at 2:10PM
heidi41(z5 Mass)

Yes, I admit that I am new to garlic....What are scrapes,Is it possibly a roundish thick "stem" coming up from the bulb. Boy do I feel foolish......Heidi

Bookmark   May 3, 2005 at 3:14PM
garliclady(z7 NC)

Yes it is . It is best to wait for it to start curling before breaking it off . I break mine when they look like shepherd hooks and not completely curled.

Bookmark   May 4, 2005 at 7:37AM
gretan(6)

Do you cut the scapes at the top by the flower or at the bottom?

Bookmark   July 3, 2007 at 11:24AM
jeffnfran

Cut the scapes where it meets the top leaves. Douing so, will send energy back to growing the bulb.
If you don't cut the scape off, the bulb will be about a third of the size it could be.
BTW, you can cook the scape! Depending on the varietie, the flavor could be as strong as a clove it's self.

Bookmark   July 6, 2007 at 3:37PM
letafm41(8)