Dead and Dying Alliums -- Is There Any Hope?

laura_42(4b-5a Colorado)June 24, 2008

As a newbie, I thought I'd ask for confirmation that I've messed up my first attempt at alliums.

I planted bundles of Lancelot leeks, Candy and Red Stanton and Walla Walla onions the first week of June. When I recently noted that some of their green stems were slowly drying up and withering away, I dug one up. Much to my dismay, the bulb and roots at the bottom were not there, and the buried section of the stem was limp and colorless.

My suspicion is that I may have:

A) planted them too deeply,

b) overwatered them,

c) planted them the wrong time of year (I was hoping for at least some green onions, seeing as I did not plant last fall.)

d) all of the above.

They are planted about 1 inch deep in a raised 8 inch bed, with a peat/vermiculite/compost mix, and I'd been watering them daily, either in the morning or evening; but for a week while I was away, a friend came over and watered them from a water hose about mid-day. Also, the weather has been a bit crazier than usual: hailstorms, and a couple of dips into the low 40s at night, then upper 80's low 90s in the day with gusting hot winds -- hence my watering them out of fear of drying out.

So my question is, is the situation hopeless for an allium crop this year? What could I do differently?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
reba_nc(z 7)

I'm afraid it does sound like they rotted. Next time try protecting them from drying winds with a floatng row cover. Sorry

Bookmark   June 25, 2008 at 12:08PM
momamamo

I just sprouted some evergreen bunching onions (I think they were from Park Seeds). I soaked them 24 hours to speed things up. They came up in 3-4 days.

The pack says 60 days for young green onions, 120 for mature ones. You'd have enough time for at least the young ones. Good luck! Maureen

Bookmark   June 25, 2008 at 12:40PM
still_kris(z17 NoCA)