Japanese eggplant not sprouting

anasophiaMay 21, 2006

This is my first time doing a veggie garden, and everything has come up so far, except the Japanese eggplant. I tried two plantings in the last month and a half, both in the same area-- lots of sun. The peas have come up in that area but not the eggplant. Is there anything special I should know about the soil for these guys?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Violet_Z6(6a)

Try planting them in sterile growing medium. Eggplant seeds need warm soil to. germinate! The best germination rates occur when the soil temperature is between 72 to 80 degrees F.

Bookmark   May 21, 2006 at 12:02PM
digit(ID/WA)

You are a little late starting eggplant seed, Anasophia.

I'm only a couple hours drive from the northeast corner of Oregon and considerably higher in elevation than the Willamette or the Rogue valleys.

I planted 5 eggplants out of 4 inch pots into the garden this afternoon. The rest of them will go in tomorrow. These plants were started indoors during the 1st week of March.

I suppose that people in zone 9 or 10 can direct-seed eggplant but I had no idea that an Oregon gardener could do this. Whaddya think about purchasing some plants at your local farmers' market?

Steve

Bookmark   May 22, 2006 at 12:05AM
bobolink(z6 MA)

I tried starting Asian eggplants from seeds for 2 years without much sucess. The variety last year was Ichiban, a Japanese long purple type, zero germination. The method was wrapping seeds in wet paper towel, put in sandwich bag, and leave it on top of frige. This works for tomato seeds as old as 10 years. This year I started 20 PingTung Long, a Taiwanese long purple variety, I got 3 seeds germinated.

I think I will just buy seedlings next year ...

Bookmark   May 22, 2006 at 4:39PM
digit(ID/WA)

We have a little trouble growing eggplant because of our cool nights and short season - many US standards are out.