Lemongrass

jeff_12422February 3, 2011

Has anyone had success growing lemongrass in the desert? I have a plant from last year that either died or went dormant for the winter... Not sure which yet. I suspect it's dead, as I transplanted it into the ground in the fall, not realizing it would have a dormant stage. And it's very possible it was near death when I transplanted it, too, as I just didn't take very good care of it. At any rate, I'm hoping it will revive itself in the spring, or I'll get another one, but if anyone has any tips for keeping it alive here in the dry heat, I'd love to hear them! (Or, likewise, to hear if it's stupid to try to keep lemongrass alive in a dry climate...)

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
kccav(z9 AZ)

I've been growing it here in Glendale for about seven years. Yes they die back in winter and new shoots will come up in spring. Sometimes when the winter is real cold only a few will sprigs will survive (only if you had a fairly large clump). In spring cut the clump of lemongrass to about a foot high. If you can find a few sprigs still alive take them out. Take the dead clump of lemongrass out of ground and replant the few live sprigs you have. That's what I do and had success every year. Lemongrass will grow to about 3 1/2 foot high with a about a 8 inch round clump circumference from those new sprigs real quick. They will take root pretty quickly, just keep watered when young and newly transplanted. They can take full Arizona sun all day in summer with no problem at all.

1 Like    Bookmark   February 4, 2011 at 10:56AM
agility_mom(z9 AZ)

I just planted some of this earlier in the fall. It actually looks pretty good still after the freeze. It was located under a Palo Verde tree not far from a west facing wall so maybe that saved it.
Thank you, kccav for the info on this. I was wondering if it could take the heat.

Bookmark   February 8, 2011 at 12:14PM
lostyooper(8)