Tomato transplant - spacing of plants

ldramey01March 28, 2011

I'm a newbie to vegetable gardening and have a question on tomato plant spacing and possibly transplanting some of mine. I started some tomato plants and they're all doing well, but some much better than others and I think it may be due to planting them close together. I have raised beds with great soil and was told I could get away with packing my beds fuller than you'd be able to in desert soil. I was limited on space when I first planted but now have opened up a lot more space with great exposure for tomatoes, should I transplant some of the smaller plants that aren't doing that well into the better location or are they too fragile? Any advice is appreciated, thank you!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
thisisme(az9b)

I guess it all depends. Are your varieties determinant or indeterminate? Are you caging them or staking them or weaving them or trellising them or just letting them sprawl?

Bookmark   March 28, 2011 at 1:21PM
ldramey01

I have Roma, Patio and Celebrity tomatoes and I'm staking the plants that have grown very quickly (and tall). Hope that helps and I really appreciate any advice, thanks!

Bookmark   March 28, 2011 at 7:16PM
mangledmind(AZ 9B)

2-4 feet apart depending on variety ... they need AIR and LIGHT to reduce molds, mildews and other diseases ... plus this gives you easy access to address critters and to prune, pick fruit ...

Bookmark   March 28, 2011 at 8:46PM
thisisme(az9b)

All three are determinate varieties. You do know you are going to get a lot of tomatoes all at once and then all your plants are going to die? Anyway I would stake them 2ft apart as they are short lived and relatively small as far as tomato plants go.

You should go to the link at the bottom and read it.

Here is a link that might be useful: What is the difference between

Bookmark   March 28, 2011 at 9:46PM
mister_gin(z9 AZ)