(beginner) easy to care for plants

beautifulweedsMarch 2, 2006

Hi I am new to gardening and live in AZ. Would like to start a garden not sure where to start. I planted a few things last year golden something, you see them landscaped at most homedepots. I just would like something to fill in the dirt- flowers, greenery anything. Tried Dahalias, didn't go to well. Tried wildflowers maybe 2 plants came up from the huge bag I bought. 1 sunflower from many packets, and that was after I pulled it thinking it was a weed. I replanted it quickly after my husband told me that was my plant. It lived it looked pitiful. Is it too late to plant anything? Would apprciate some suggestions. thanks

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
lazy_gardens

Get the Sunset Western Garden Book. Figure out what Zone you are in, and do NOT plant anything that they don't say will grow in that zone.

Dahlias are DIFFICULT, wildflowers have to be the right kind,

Read the site linked below. We are starting the "spring" season, when you can plant a lot of things.

Here is a link that might be useful: Lazy, cheapskate gardening

Bookmark   March 2, 2006 at 10:40PM
frangipaniaz(z9 Az)

Sunflowers grow really well in zone 9... I'm zone 9 and these are the various things that I've had lots of luck with:
Zinnias
Sunflowers
Herbs
Iris
Gerber Daisy
Cannas
Hibiscus
various vines

It all depends on if you want seeds or plants... I hope some of this helps and feel free to ask more questions :)
Brittany

Bookmark   March 3, 2006 at 5:16PM
azglasslady(USDA 7)