Arundinaria gigantea bamboo planting and care in MI

fernandovidalApril 19, 2008

Hello pros, I am a complete novice when it comes to gardening and recently purchased 6 bamboo rhizomes of the Arundinaria gigantea variety. I live in southeastern Michigan which can have fairly severe winters (zone 4 I think). I heard these are good for forming a hedge, so I've planted them about 6 feet apart about 5 inches deep in regular soil, patted firmly, and watered a lot. Beyond that, any advice from a bamboo expert? Watering regimen? Mulch? Miracle Grow? Peat moss? I checked with some alleged experts in a gardening store and they knew nothing about how to make bamboo flourish, so if there is someone with some sage advice on this lovely plant, I would be truly grateful! Thanks in advance!!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
chills71(Zone 6b Mi)

SouthEast Michigan is at worst zone 5. I'm in Southeast Mi and I'm firmly in zone 6 (many winters are zone 7)

I'd water, mulch and then wait. If you've already done that then just wiat to see what happens.

I didn't have great luck growing boo from rhizomes, I finally bought plants. If you're looking for a local vendor, let me know.

~Chills

Bookmark   April 19, 2008 at 3:37PM
kudzu9(Zone 8a - PNW)

fernando-
It sounds like you're doing the right things. However, the previous poster is correct that it can be hard to grow from rhizome. I've been growing various species of bamboo for quite a few years and my success growing from fresh rhizome, carefully selected, ranges from 0-50%. Also bear in mind that, even if you are successful growing from rhizome, it will be at least 5 years before the bamboo gets as tall as you. That's why you might want to consider starting with actual plants.

Bookmark   April 19, 2008 at 4:14PM
fernandovidal