Going to create a beginner bamboo package, what to include?

takumakuMay 6, 2007

I remember a few years ago when I first was looking to grow some bamboo and I discovered how costly it was to buy. I couldn't image spending $65 for a 5-gallon pot of F. rufa or B. multiplex when I was just toying with the idea of growing bamboo. Luckily, I found a fellow hobbyist who didn't mind donating a small 3-gallon pot of B. multiplex to a beginner.

My question to my fellow growers, if you were going to create a beginner bamboo package, what species would you include? The basic idea is to offer 4 bamboos that are 'cheap' and easy to grow. I have been toying with this idea for a few months now. This is the suggestion that I thought of.

Total cost to the beginner: $10 + shipping. All of these are 1 gallon pots.

Arundinaria gigantea 'tecta'

Bambusa multiplex

Phyllostachys aurea

Bambusa vulgaris

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
lkz5ia

It all depends where someone lives, what I would include for beginners would be vastly different, obviously because of climate. Also, runners versus clumpers. If a person absolutely doesn't want invasive bamboo, then idea would have to be reformated.

Bookmark   May 7, 2007 at 10:32AM
cesmls

When we lived in Portland, Oregon we started with black timber bamboo and yellow bamboo - fifteen years later we had the most beautiful "fence" of bamboo! The lady who bought the house next door to us said that it was the bamboo fence between our 2 properties that was the sale clincher.

And they were extremely low maintenance - we just laid a dripper line alongside them and then forgot about them. No fertilizer. No containment measures. Nothing.

Bookmark   May 11, 2007 at 4:47PM
mmyles

Great idea... I'd love to find a cheap/free/affordable resource for getting started...

I've been reading a lot and definately have the bug! Unfortunately (not really...) my gardening is on a really tight budget - new baby!