Best Edible Banana to grow in California

crazy_roseOctober 21, 2005

I am interested to grow edible banana plant in my garden. I am new to gardening. I live in California, city is Fremont. Can you help me to identify which zone I live in? What kinds would be best suited for my climate? Where would I get banana plants or pups on a reasonable price in California. I would appreciate any suggestions.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
baci(z10Ca)

One inexpensive source of bananas is swap meets. I have seen pups sell for about $3.00, & 6 specimens for about $10.00. The varieties might be unnamed, but sometimes they are unusual, and sellers will often present their fruit alongside the plant. Another source is Asian markets. They are more expensive, but I recently saw 6 edible varieties in pots for about $25.00. The cheapest bananas I have found are at the dollar stores  unnamed varieties for, of course, $1.00.
Having said all this, if you want named varieties, others will probably suggest nurseries. They also sell them at your local department and home improvement centers , but you need to check out the varieties to see if they are edible.

Bookmark   October 23, 2005 at 7:17AM
laterita(7b Holland (dr))

You can look for your zone yourself, see link.
Simon.
Search for a banana with a lower rate than your area.

Here is a link that might be useful: usda zonemap CA

Bookmark   October 23, 2005 at 8:31AM
momo1(z10)

Here is another that uses your 5 digit zip code.

Here is a link that might be useful: Zone by zip code

Bookmark   October 23, 2005 at 7:08PM
crazy_rose

Hi,

On using "usda zonemap CA" then I find my zone as 10a and according to "Zone by zip code" (my zip code - 94555) then it says "The maximum plant hardiness zone for your zip code is 9."
What should I consider (10a or 9)?