Ground Bees near house foundation

makk2July 9, 2008

Hi-- this is my first time on the bee board. My husband and I have noticed a lot of bee activity near the ground next to our front porch. Today I was doing some gardening and lifted up a decorative brick, out 3 flew, I lifted up another brick and another 10 flew out from what appears to be a 3 by 3 inch hole in the ground. They were not aggressive and did not attack.

Here's my question. The entrance they are using is about 1 foot from our porch/house foundation. Since the bees aren't aggressive, I'm all for leaving them well enough alone, but will they begin burrowing into the foundation?

I'm in eastern Pennsylvania. I've never seen bees living in the ground before and it sure gave me pause.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
tonybeeguy

can you get a close enough look to tell what they are? yellow jackets or bumble bees seem the most likely answers

Bookmark   July 9, 2008 at 11:13PM
makk2

Tonybeeguy, thanks for the response.

I don't think they're yellow jackets. They're fat, fuzzy and pretty friendly, not sleek and nasty like the yellow jackets I've encountered in my time. Even after I exposed their nest to the world (via moving the bricks) they came out to check me out, but didn't sting.

Bookmark   July 14, 2008 at 12:27PM
tonybeeguy

It likely that they are bumblebees. I've seen them nest in holes in foundations. Nest size usually only gets to a few hundred bees at most

Bookmark   July 14, 2008 at 7:38PM
makk2

Thanks Tony, that info helped a lot.

A few hundred we can deal with, I don't think that's going to destroy the house or anything. I'll leave them alone and thank them for pollinating my bean plants.

Bookmark   July 15, 2008 at 11:37AM
lpoulos