Banana tree has fruit on it. Now What?

elbeardoNovember 9, 2009

Hey, when do I know it's time to cut the stalk of fruit off my banana tree? The fruit are small but they seem to have stopped growing.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
rayandgwenn(z11 Puerto Rico)

Since you are new at this, I would wait until you see a slight color change. Once one starts turning yellow, go for it. They can take quite a while to start.

Bookmark   November 11, 2009 at 6:11AM
elbeardo

Thanks for the reply. After I cut it, should I hang it up someplace, like in my cellar?

Bookmark   November 12, 2009 at 11:33AM

After you cut it (be careful- the sap that drips out will permanently stain everything!), we do hang ours, but I don't think it is 100% necessary.
We hand it upside down, so the hands face down (they fall off less easily).

Bookmark   November 13, 2009 at 2:12PM
sk290

Hello there! I'm new to growing bananas. Can I ask you why cut the fruit off the tree (unless it's for weather reasons?)? I would think that they would mature better in the tree. I have a small Vietnamese banana that someone gave me (he didn't know the name of it) and can't wait until I get fruit, maybe next year sometime. :) Thanks in advance for the information.

Sandra

Bookmark   November 14, 2009 at 12:51AM

Yes sk290, you are right, mostly you only cut the fruit off when they are ready (ripe or almost ripe). I think the OP just wasn't sure when they are ready to be cut.
Once you have been growing bananas a while, you will know when they are ready before they turn yellow. Once they are yellow and cut, they do ripen quickly (to fast to eat them all). If you can cut them just before they turn yellow, you can slow some of the ripening. It takes some experience to know when they are ready, but just not ripe. Then you can leave them on the stalk and just cut the top hands that are ready, that way you can take them as you can eat them.