Beginner needs help.

elijahy227May 31, 2010

Im new to botany and i was wondering if there were any good beginner books that would be helpful to me if i were to pursue a career in botany. I dont know where to start so im just asking for anything that well "show me the ropes" or give me a better idea of which way to move. So in advance thanks for the help

-Elijah

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
nancyanne_2010(Z 8 / WA)

I don't know what to suggest right off but what you can do is find a botany course at a local college / university and find out what textbook they use (most have textbooks listed on the schools bookstore's web page)

You can also email the instructor / professor and ask if they recommend that book for a beginner - ask also which book they recommend (sometimes they have no choice but to use the book listed for various reasons) You can see what book(s) they recommend then purchase the book(s) on a site such as amazon.com or another inexpensive used textbook site.

Bookmark   June 1, 2010 at 1:41AM
gardengal48

One very inexpensive and concise text is Botany for Gardeners by Brian Capon. This is a text that is used for general horticultural courses so not extremely detailed or technical but certainly addresses all aspects of botany in a basic way. Should provide a helpful overview of the subject to begin with and then you can make some decisions about how to proceed further.