Lowe's trip

tiarella(7b)November 28, 2010

I went to buy plastic liners for my plant stand and of course I had to look at amaryllis. Prior to Loew's I was at Target and purchased 3 hippies (2 for me, 1 for a gift). Smith and Hawkin bulbs and $7 each 2 Red Lion and 1 Apple Blossom. I was surprised because Lowe's had some hippies I had not noticed before and I was going to get some when I remembered that any unsold items go on sale sometime before Christmas and some of them had leaves or buds sticking out so I decided to wait a bit. Besides I forgot to get some potting soil and I will have to go back again to also buy a gift for my husband in the tool dept.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
arbo_retum(z5 ,WinchstrMA)

tiarella and others, it would be sooo much better if youall included your location next to your zone. in cases like this, lowes stores vary from store to store so i have no idea if your experience is relevant for me!!

Bookmark   November 29, 2010 at 1:55PM
beachplant(9b)

Several people have posted that when they asked the clerks or the customer service reps about discounts for bulbs that were/had already bloomed they were getting great discounts, $1.50-$3.00 for the bulbs. Spring, Texas I know and several other states, perhaps Arkansas?

I'd ask for a discount! I plan on stopping in Friday for some things & will see if I have any luck getting cheap bulbs.
Tally HO!

Bookmark   November 29, 2010 at 4:27PM
svham

I was visiting my parents in Murrels Inlet, SC - they had a bunch of amaryllis in boxes that the scapes were already busting out of the boxes (many were already blooming). They were marked at $5.98 and their other bulbs (daffs,crocus, etc) were marked 75% off - I asked the lady in the garden ctr and she said that I could have them for .50 cents each!! I got ten!

Bookmark   November 29, 2010 at 7:03PM
tiarella(7b)