New to Tillandsia - are they okay indoors??

FluffyClouAugust 12, 2013

Hello! This is my first post here in the Bromeliad forum. I am planning to buy a Tillandsia but I am not sure if they are okay indoors. It will be placed in a classroom so there will be no sun at all. I have only learned about Tillandsia a week ago so I am really new to it.

Also, I would like to ask if ordering Tillandsia online is cheaper, better or have good quality. I have never ordered plants online before. Is there a certain kind of Tillandsia that is recommended for newbies like me?

Thanks!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
debbyabq

I started buying and growing them last fall, buying both locally (one source) and from online sources, so I have a variety. Over the winter I had mine under two grow lights (tube lights made for installing under cabinets, so each about 2 feet long). I had these on a timer so they got a split session of ~3 hours in the morning, ~6 in the evening (I was at work, so why waste the electricity?) Now that I'll be working at home, I'll give them 12-13 hours a day in the same lighting starting in the later fall. Right now (August) they're outside in a north-facing porch, getting a lot of reflected sunlight at our high altitude. So if you have a grow light, you may be able to put other plants under it as well. Perhaps take the Tillandsia home on weekends and give it a soaking and some sunshine in a window. If you have a fresh-water fish tank in the classroom, you can use water from that to soak the Tillandsia in (that's what I do)

Bookmark   August 12, 2013 at 4:16PM
tsugajunkie z5 SE WI

So the classroom is dark evening, night and on weekends and holidays? Perhaps for over a week or more around Christmas and Easter? Forced air heating and air conditioning making the air quite dry? May be tough.

tj

Bookmark   August 12, 2013 at 7:23PM
FluffyClou

Debby,
Thank you.