Best size pot to grow Brugmansia?

olympia_gardener(5)March 24, 2012

Hi, I am new to Brugmansia world. Never heard about it before but have read about it a lot from this forum recently. The more I read, the more I like it. It sounds like a fantastic plant to have, especially its flower size, scent, and the name, Angel's Trumpet. .

I ordered couple of them this year. My order has not come yet, but I am preparing for their arrival. I live in zone 5 which means that I have to move them indoor during the winter months. Would anyone suggest a best size pot I should put them in so they can grow and flower freely without breaking my back when I move them indoor in the fall. 8", 10", 12", or large??? Thanks a lot for your advise.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
figara(Ca 9)

Hi, olimpia_gardener and welcome to the forum. My brugs are in different size pots depending on how big the plants are. Smaller plant smaller pot, bigger plants bigger pots. When they grow and I see roots coming from bottom I know it's time to pot up.
Most of my full grown brugs are in 5 gal ( black nursery pots) and just 3-4 in 15 gal pots and those I do not move in winter. But my winter is mild with just a few frosting days. It is easy to keep mature brugs in 5 gal pots by root pruning in the spring and cutting them back when the winter comes and you are ready to store them. Hope this help.

Pat

Bookmark   March 24, 2012 at 6:11PM
olympia_gardener(5)

Hi, Pat

Thanks a lot . Hope my Brugmansia arrive soon.I can't wait to pot them and watch them grow.

What is the diameter of 5 gl pot? I don't think Home Depot sales pots go by gl. I have to translate gl into inches.

Bookmark   March 24, 2012 at 7:17PM
figara(Ca 9)