Help! What recourse do I take for this?

KurtronMarch 3, 2013

Hey everyone,

I am a newbie green thumb and live in a climate with long harsh winters. So I have been raising some plants inside my room. I bought this succulent cactus from a greenhouse that had super duper brilliant light and was very humid, enough so that it was in artificially in bloom. I moved it into my room in my house, probably about a 70% reduction in light. It lost a lot of 'branches' but I assumed it was due to the shock of transfer. But having it for a few months now, it doesn't seem to be thriving, but it is still surviving. Never the less, it seemed to be enduring just fine, but I checked it and noticed that it had some kind of fungus growing on it! I am at a loss of what to do about it. Help please!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
ctreeteac(Zone 8b; rain-spewing Oregon)

Take a look at some carbuncled Echeveria/hybrids of Echeveria gibbiflora. I don't think that's a fungus; it looks like it's an awesome E. gibb. hybrid to me. Young plants won't develop the carbuncles until they're a bit more mature.

That said, it's not going to live indoors, or it'll barely survive and keep worsening. It needs full sun, and shock of transfer has nothing to do with the leaf loss, really. It's not going to come back from this if its conditions don't change for the better. Echeveria aren't indoors plants.

Now, long, harsh winters I understand...in that case you've gotta make do and water very little, and keep them going until you can get them outside again.

This post was edited by teatree on Sun, Mar 3, 13 at 19:47

Bookmark   March 3, 2013 at 7:42PM
rosemariero(Z9 SW SUNDiegoCA)

I believe teatree (Colleen) has it figured out. I would look up the word carunculated (although carbuncled is close for a description) Echeveria. If it isn't that, we need a more clear pic of your leaves.

Maybe you can tell us...can this stuff be wiped off your leaf?

Good advice for your succulent from Colleen. =)