Lost name tag

houstonpat(9a)March 1, 2012

I lost the tag to this one. Does anyone know the species. I'm looking at moving it to a larger pot. Any tips or suggestions?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
penfold2(4b, MN)

Didierea madagascariensis

When repotting very spiny plants I've folded sheets of newspaper into strips which I then wrap around the plant. Hanging onto the ends of that newspaper is a lot more comfortable than trying to hang onto the plant itself.

Bookmark   March 1, 2012 at 5:23PM
rosemariero6(z10 /ss24 So. Calif.)

I believe it is Didierea madagascariensis. Sorry, I have no experience, therefore no advice, about potting up.

Bookmark   March 1, 2012 at 5:26PM
norma_2006

Keep your hands clean of sap some are very dangerous to handle, use milk if it starts to sting any plance on your body eyes or any other openings. Norma

Bookmark   March 1, 2012 at 7:29PM
dellis530(6B)

I had one a long time ago, I think thats the correct ID.

Denise

Bookmark   March 1, 2012 at 8:09PM
houstonpat(9a)

Many thanks y'all.

Bookmark   March 1, 2012 at 10:56PM
cactusmcharris

Pat,

That's a sweet plant. And as I've likely bored you with before, the proper response to Didieria? is 'Did s/he ever.' This plant really likes summer - yours is looking just great. General succulent culture is what this likes.

Norma,

This plant doesn't have a sap problem. The Didieriaceae, (Didieria, Alluaudia and Alluaudiopsis) aren't harmful unless you grasp them powerfully, like when you don't think about not catching one of them as they fall while being repotted (I did it - it hurt). One must be a lemur to hold them without hurting.

Bookmark   March 1, 2012 at 11:10PM
houstonpat(9a)

All good info.