The GIANTS are growing!

bandjzmom(7 NWGeorgia)June 13, 2014

My Giant Swallowtail cats are growing well. The largest ones are just past the 1 1/2 inch mark now. This is my first time raising them, and I have to say that so far, these are the easiest cats I have ever raised. They are sluggish as all get out, never moving around the enclosure. They stay right on their leaves to molt, and they aren't very big eaters either. They are dream cats! ~~Angie

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
misssherry(Z8/9SE MS)

Yes, indeed, Angie, they're about the easiest cats to raise ever!

Congratulations on your success!

Sherry

Bookmark   June 13, 2014 at 7:29PM
bandjzmom(7 NWGeorgia)

Thanks Sherry. You were so right about them. Here I was thinking that they might be as complex as Zebras. So glad that they aren't. So far, so good!~~Angie

Bookmark   June 13, 2014 at 7:34PM
caterwallin

Angie, I'm glad that you are getting a chance to raise the Giant Swallowtails. I just love them despite their dying as small cats that they do when I try to raise them from eggs. I brought about a dozen inside and would have brought more in to raise if she'd have gone more crazy laying eggs, but she didn't. It's unusual because most times when a Giant Swallowtail butterfly is here at the host plants, she lays at least 40 eggs. I haven't seen any cats on the rue at all. Just like last year, she/they prefer the gas plants. I also didn't find any on the wafer ash trees. I'm feeding them gas plant/Dictamnus and wafer ash.
Here's one of my favorite pictures I took of a GST. It looks like it has a face and is saying, "Ho hum." :-)

Bookmark   June 14, 2014 at 2:09PM
bandjzmom(7 NWGeorgia)