Camellia size?

gamecock43March 22, 2009

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to gardening and am trying to find shrubs for the front of my new home. I live in Savannah ga and there are Camella plants in several of our parks and they are beautiful.

I am wondering, are Camella a shrub or a tree? Can they be pruned to be about 3 feet tall year round or do they grow a thick trunk system and eventually need to grow taller?

I guess I am wondering if this is a plant I can use for my front flower bed, or if it is really a tree and will eventually be inappropriate. I don't want to have to dig up or kill a plant off in a few years because of my ignorance.

Thanks in advance!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Dave in NoVA • 7a • Northern VA

They can be large shrubs and will eventually form small trees (over a long time). You may be able to find slower growing, more spreading varieties that 'might' lend themselves to shearing -- maybe some sasanquas?

Bookmark   March 23, 2009 at 8:06AM
gamecock43

Thank you. After doing some research I decided the beautiful trees need to find a different spot on my property. :)

Bookmark   March 23, 2009 at 9:27AM
luis_pr(7b/8a Hurst, TX)

I am not sure how long you plan on keeping them but they can certainly last several hundred years if you provide adequate growing conditions.

Bookmark   March 23, 2009 at 10:57AM
Dave in NoVA • 7a • Northern VA

Camellia sasanqua 'Bonanza' or maybe 'Chansonette' might work in your space with some shearing after a while. Those tend to grow wider rather than tall.

Otherwise there are many, many shrubs that would fit your space... maybe dwarf yaupon holly, pittosporum, Indian Hawthorn, some of the smaller euonymus, gardenia, Helleri holly, Softtouch holly, FirePower Nandina, Encore azaleas, Viburnum davidii or Vib. 'Conoy', dwarf crape myrtles, KnockOut roses, etc, etc. Also, depends on how much sun you have.

Bookmark   March 24, 2009 at 1:56PM
IRuehl(8b-9a, Savannah GA)