How to germinate Camellia seed?

5862xwgOctober 8, 2013

I'm obsessed with growing plants from seed. I know they will be slow growing and possibly will never flower but I just like the feeling of accomplishment. Anyway, I'm new to Camellia. I've been growing Adenium and I feel like Camellia is on the opposite side of succulent. Does anyone have any experience germinating Camellia seeds and caring for seedling during spring? I live in KY Zone 6.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
mrlynn(z7 GA)

I put them in a container and cover with 1 inch of soil. Then I cover them with 1 foot of leaves during the winter. In the spring I remove the leaves and they start to germinate in April. I grow them in the pot the first year and the next year I plant them in the garden. Camellia Forest Nursery has lots of seeds for sale of different species.

Bookmark   October 11, 2013 at 10:31AM
5862xwg

Thanks, mrlynn

How about germinating them in a container? I don't have a yard to put them in.

Bookmark   October 11, 2013 at 11:50AM
vmr423(Zone 8b, SC)

You may find this link to be useful- I did. Over the last 2 months, I planted hundreds of seeds gathered from plants around the neighborhood & in our yard- some are already leafing out, but most are still thinking about germinating...
http://camelliaexpress.wordpress.com/2011/07/10/growing-camellia-seed/

Bookmark   October 12, 2013 at 5:08PM
restoner(6B-7A)

I think it helps to use a nail file (or something similar) to break through the outer seed coat.

Bookmark   October 14, 2013 at 12:04AM
5862xwg

Thanks for the link, vmr.

restoner, I heard people has used hammers to crack seed open.

For those who's grown camellia from seed, can you guys send a couple images? I want to wait until next spring to plant them but I can't wait to see what I'm dealing with. Thanks

Bookmark   October 14, 2013 at 4:24PM
Jonathan29