Boxwood damage over the winter

yugoslavaMay 22, 2014

I have seen a lot of boxwood in Toronto damaged over the winter. My boxwood, particularly mycrophylla, on the side facing south is mostly brown. This is the first time in 10 or 12 years, since I've planted them they have had such damage. The winter was brutal, no question about it. As it's warming up, I'm noticing more and more of my plants not showing any signs of life. Japanese maple, roses, pea schrub and probably few more. Surprisingly, rhododendrons and azaleas have survived without any damage. About boxwood, I have removed some of the brown leaves. Is there anything else?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
purple-anemone

Yes, I found the same - 2 of my 6 roses died and the rest are very damaged...some box wood too...and quite a lot of perennials. I'm no expert, but the only thing I thought I could do was the same as you...pruning out the real dead parts...maybe shape them later when/if some new growth surfaces...

Bookmark   December 2, 0002 at 12:07AM
purple-anemone

Yes, I found the same - 2 of my 6 roses died and the rest are very damaged...some box wood too...and quite a lot of perennials. I'm no expert, but the only thing I thought I could do was the same as you...pruning out the real dead parts...maybe shape them later when/if some new growth surfaces...

purple-anemone

prairiemoon2 z6 MA

I have a few boxwood and only one has any significant damage. That one is on the north side of a 6ft fence. All my other boxwoods, facing east, facing west along the foundation of the house, came through the winter with minimal to no damage at all.

Bookmark   May 23, 2014 at 7:22AM
ianna(Z5b)