Look what we found last night

catherinet(5 IN)August 16, 2011

This is so cool. It was really hard to catch a shot of this little (big) guy, but here's a fairly decent one. He has a wing span of about 3-4".

I believe its a Carolina Sphinx moth.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
catherinet(5 IN)

I'm not very good at this, but here's a try at enlarging and sharpening the pic.

Bookmark   August 16, 2011 at 10:05AM
bob_71(z7 MD)

You're doing very well!

Bob

Bookmark   August 16, 2011 at 10:49AM
rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7

They are such fabulous moths. Have you been sacrificing your tomatoes to their caterpillars, lol!

Bookmark   August 16, 2011 at 12:33PM
misssherry(Z8/9SE MS)

Great picture, Catherine!

Sherry

Bookmark   August 16, 2011 at 12:48PM
TomatoWorm59

Carolina, all right! Fantastic photo, too. Do you have any tomatoes, peppers, eggplant or even Datura or Brugmansia for the larvae of this species?

Bookmark   August 16, 2011 at 3:40PM
ronkw(8b LA)

WOW...Great shot!

Bookmark   August 16, 2011 at 5:39PM
catherinet(5 IN)

Thanks everyone. I have tomatoes and peppers, but sure haven't seen any larvae. Do they like anything else?
I've been looking over my tomatoes and haven't seen anything, unfortunately. I even have some milkweed growing in the garden and saw some poop........but it wasn't even monarchs, but rather tussock moth cats (I think??). Its been an upside down summer this year.
We saw this Carolina moth a few nights ago at dusk, and got all excited.......but then saw a bird chasing it! We were very happy to see it had survived. We were standing on the deck cheering for it........"GO!!!....RUN!!!!"

Bookmark   August 16, 2011 at 6:02PM
catherinet(5 IN)

Some further reading shows me that the cats I'm seeing on the milkweed are Milkweed Tussock moths. That's why they're on the milkweed! Learn something new every day!

Bookmark   August 16, 2011 at 10:20PM
bettyd_z7_va(7)

That is too cool!

Is its eyes really purple?

Betty