Is this their maximum height?

petpalikali(WI-Z4)July 4, 2008

It's my first year growing Cannas, so forgive what may be a silly question. I don't know what kind they are, hence the mystery, but they are beginning to bloom! Woo Hoo! They are only about 30 inches tall, including the bud. The question is, is this their maximum height? I was sort of hoping they would get at least 4 feet, to cover the fence. Will they continue to grow taller?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
john_bonzo

A stalk will not get any taller after it puts out a bloom. However, thats not to say that future stalks will not get higher than 30 inches, it depends on the type of canna and how much sun, heat, water, etc it receives. I wouldn't think that the same canna would get as tall in Wisconsin as it would in Florida, but I can't say I've done or read anything to actually back that up.

Bookmark   July 4, 2008 at 7:18PM
petpalikali(WI-Z4)

So John, I should cross my fingers for a taller next stalk? Maybe I'll try to give them some extra water as well. Never having grown Cannas, or any tuber, I just don't know what to expect from my mystery plants. From the look of the buds, I'm guessing they'll be red. Thanks for the info, and the lightning speed response! I just love GardenWeb!

Bookmark   July 4, 2008 at 10:24PM
john_bonzo

Extra water and maybe throw in some nitrogen couldn't hurt. Did any buds open up any today to see a color?

Bookmark   July 5, 2008 at 5:28PM
nucci60(6 Ma.)

If you want tall cannas, just buy a named variety that grows tall.If you have a dwarf variety, it will never get to 5 or 6 feet.

Bookmark   July 6, 2008 at 9:46AM
weirdtrev