My first Monarchs progression!

Corgikarma(6)August 1, 2014

Here are some of the photos so far of the six eggs and two cats I found Wednesday. I am so excited!

This post was edited by Corgikarma on Fri, Aug 1, 14 at 20:21

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Corgikarma(6)

Next picture

Bookmark   August 1, 2014 at 7:44PM
alex928 Z8/LA

Awww, they look so cute at that stage!

Bookmark   August 1, 2014 at 8:06PM
Corgikarma(6)

I do have a question, is tropical milkweed alright to feed them? I noticed there were no eggs on the tropical milkweed so I'm wondering if the cats will eat it.

Bookmark   August 2, 2014 at 6:15PM
efeuer

I'm no expert, but yes, they do eat tropical milkweed. In fact, I think it is one of their favorites. I raised mine last year on tropical milkweed and they all did well.

If only I had some to raise this year. Sigh.
Liz

Bookmark   August 2, 2014 at 9:58PM
Corgikarma(6)

Unfortunately I lost a cat. This morning it was curled up on a leaf. I'm hoping this isn't a trend with the rest of these babies

Bookmark   August 3, 2014 at 1:22PM
docmom_gw Zone 5 MI(5)

Corgikarma,
Unfortunately, spontaneous death of caterpillars is a very common part of this process. Sometimes a cause can be found, but sometimes not. I started with 13 eggs, which all hatched, but I'm down to 7 cats. I think several just wandered off, since my container was not air tight, and I never found dead cats. But, 4 I just found sitting still and turning dark/black and gooey. I have learned to touch or move them as little as possible. If a cat is sitting still of by itself on the wall of the container, leave it alone, but watch closely to see if it moves again, or if it is giving up.