w/s zip lock plastic bag ?

poppy88(5a)December 8, 2008

Good Morning everyone,

I hope you are well, it is very cold today and all I could think of is w/s.

I am a beginner to wintersown, I've tried last last year and in spring had about half of my seeds spout. One of the reason was because I didn't have enough containers so I was using things like berries containers, coffee cups. Anyway, I find myself again short of containers this year and I google on the net and found someone w/s with zip lock plastic bag. I am anxious to use these bags as containers.

I am wondering if you had success in w/s with zip lock plastic bag, if yes what size ? I was thinking of using the sandwich size bag. Can you share your sucess story ? do you zip all the way ? half ?

As for containers, I was also looking for any suggestions on what you used and had sucess.

Thankyou,

Poppy88

Thanks

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
clc70(8 Wa.)

Do you know someone who works for a nursing home, or in the kitchen of a school? If so, maybe they can save 1 gal. milk jugs for you. My nursing home uses 5-6 gal. of milk a day. Thats 35-42 jugs a week I'm bringing home.

Bookmark   December 13, 2008 at 1:23AM
poppy88(5a)

Thank you clc70,

I was considering using zip lock bags because I live in CANADA, our milk doesn't comes in the galon container like yours do. In addition to that, I also don't drink any soda or soft drink.

I posted the same message in the wintersown forum, and I got a lot of good responds. I thank you for your time.

I asked family members, friends to save me any salad containers so I am hoping they will come in ....

happy gardening.

Poppy

Bookmark   December 15, 2008 at 9:02AM
northerner_on(Z5A ONCanada)

Have you looked at Wintersown.org? I think Trudi has directions, complete with drawings on how to use zip-loc bags, or baggies as they call them in the U.S. Try this link:
http://wintersown.org/wseo1/Winter_Sowing_in_a_Baggie.html
Good luck!!
Northerner.