baby n. ventricosa pitcher

sakmeht(Zone 6)February 12, 2007

Hi all,

I'm a newbie and was wondering if anyone has a good pic of a close-up of a VERY small baby pitcher that I can see... My ventricosa's new pitcher is growing off a nice pink tendril and the pitcher looks fuzzy and light brown. Does this sound normal? It's the brown color that I'm wondering about. Thanks! Sarita

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
petiolaris(Neutral)

Well... this is a young N. sanguinea I got from Lowes, which should be similar enough to what you are seeking:

Bookmark   February 13, 2007 at 11:20AM
sakmeht(Zone 6)

Actually, the far right tiny pitcher is more like what I'm looking for... mines about a 1/4" bigger than that. It looks similar, except mine is just light brown. The tendril off the end of the leaf is pink, as are all the others. I guess I'm just wondering if they will turn black or fall off if they're not going to turn into pitchers. I guess I should just have patience and wait and see! Thanks for the pic!

Bookmark   February 13, 2007 at 12:49PM
jonocross

ok, this is just my thought on the subject. Ventricosa are pretty fast growing for a Nep. The small pitchers may not make it, I've had that problem with several of my neps but those pitchers wouldn't hold much anyway. New leaves come fairly quickly and pretty soon, pitchers will come. Once you get a couple pitchers, it'll have pitchers comming faster than they die off usually.

Bookmark   February 13, 2007 at 2:09PM
petiolaris(Neutral)

All leaves should produce pitchers, unless that plant is having problems... or.... if you keep them at a window sill all year long and from November - February the photoperiod is too low... like mine!

Bookmark   February 13, 2007 at 6:58PM
hunterkiller03(9)