My Venus Fly Trap is dying. :/

luzsmilesApril 17, 2013

Hello everyone,
I'm totally new to growing plants and I really need help. So I had bought a Venus Fly trap at a museum and took it home with me. I put the pot in a little cup of water (filtered water because I didn't know it was not distilled) as it told me to and put it in my living room where it would get some sunlight. However, I had to head back to San Diego for school and couldn't take my plant back this time. I went back a week later, and it looked like this. The soil feels moist. And I was wondering if I would need to put new soil or if I just start watering distilled water and putting it in the sunlight if it would revive. I live in a dorm so my plant would be indoors at all times.
So if anyone could give me any tips on how to revive it I would deeply appreciate it!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
tommyr_gw

Throw it out and start over. First mistake is using filtered water. Second mistake keeping it inside. Get a new HEALTHY one but in the meantime Google Venus Flytrap care.

Bookmark   April 18, 2013 at 6:22PM
Morpheus119(6)

I'm fairly new to this also but I don't think you should throw it out. I've talked to a lot of people and they say these plants are very tough. If I was you I would remove the plant from its current media and repot in long-fibered sphagnum, peat moss, peat-perlight, or a mix of all three and water with distilled or rainwater. It might pull through or it might not. The new growth suggests its not completely dead so it's worth a shot.

Bookmark   April 20, 2013 at 6:21PM
ordphien(9)

It also looks saveable to me.
My advice would be to repot.
I keep my Venus fly traps in pure sphagnum. Home Depot carries a bag for$5.
For aesthetic reasons, and practicality, I like to keep my carnivorous plants in clear glass containers.
I've found that those small clear $4 fish bowls from Michaels make great containers.
It allows me to check the moisture levels at all times at a glance.